Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In the past I’ve written a couple of posts about poetry I’ve enjoyed from around the web, here and here.

So that I can post this stuff more regularly and make it a bit more digestible, I’ve decided to just post three poems I’ve enjoyed recently. Let’s see how it goes but ideally I’m hoping to do this fairly often. Let me know what you think!

Anyway, here’s my first three recommended poems, which I’m loosely grouping under the theme of perspectives. Just click on the poem’s title to read it in full.

Tell Me Something I Don’t Know’ by Jim Culleny

This is a poem I enjoyed tremendously. It’s about different ways of describing/explaining life and the world. It plays with both poetic and scientific language and is coyly dismissive of both:

“Don’t tell me the chances of being

Are equal to the odds of not being.”

The final stanza is sublime, but I’m not going to spoil it for you – you’ll just have to read the full poem yourself and see if you agree!

Terrier in Rape’ by Nick MacKinnon

This is also a superb poem exploring the various ways that people, science and even other species see the world, but it’s also a poem simply about the joyful moment that a man watches his dog emerging from a field of oil-seed rape:

“Nearly got it now: the rape flowers

are gold dust on gravitation field-lines

showing the contours of this dog-warped

space-time.”

Oil-seed Rape[Source: Flickr Creative Commons © peteaylward]

Oil-seed Rape
[Source: Flickr Creative Commons © peteaylward]

somewhere i have never travelled, gladly beyond’ by e e cummings

I am still going through a phase of rediscovering cummings and stumbling across both old and new favourites. This poem is very much new to me.

It’s a classic cummings love poem, bringing to life with almost childlike language the power that his beloved has over him, but it also speaks of fragility and even frailty:

“nothing which we are to perceive in this world equals

the power of your intense fragility.”

Who is this woman, and what is the nature of their relationship?

